Introduction and some Q's

oliver83

Nov 24, 2009
Windsor, ON
I'm new here, just picked up my first mustang. Ever since I was a little kid I had a passion for stangs. I've owned a handful of gm's (camaros, trans am, S10's) but I'm going back to my roots. I found a super clean and original '83 GT for a good price. Being a university student I'm on a limited budget and this car has to serve as my daily driver in the summer. I'm doing full exhaust over winter and fresh paint will come in the spring.

Question:

Anything I should know about an '83? Any weaknesses etc? I know about the 7.5 rear end and 4 lugs obviously. I am fairly educated on mustangs, not so much the early fox's though. I was also trying to find specs on the engine. Can anyone point me to some links? Thanks

These are the only pics I have right now. I will be putting the 3 spokes on all 4 corners. New wheels won't fit my budget anytime soon.

my_stang.jpe

my_stang_2.jpe

Thanks for any help and I apologize in advance for the 10 000 questions I will ask.

• Sponsors (?)

HI :welcome: 2 :SNSign:!

First off...I know nothing about early foxes. With that said..looks like you have your self an excellent lookin 4-eye!:nice:

As for wheels...maybe off the 3 spokes and the 10 holes and pick up a set of Pony's?:shrug: Just my .02

Also, there is no such thing as TOO many questions, just make sure you use the :search: function before askin a simple question.

Anyways...congrats on the car and enjoy teh Stangnet!:canada:

is the car an automatic? if so you have a CFI setup which is really going to limit how well the car will perform. if its a manual you should have a 4 barrell carb.

Beautiful 4-eye! Welcome aboard!