Lentech vs. TCI vs PA

Alright I'm looking at trannies and trying to decide between Performance automatics, TCI street fighter or Lentch street terminator. I really like the 123/od patern on the Lentechs but they are like $1800. The TCI's run for $1300 they say they have a auto/manual vb, is that like the lentech? How would that work w/out an electronic switch for od. It would seem is can't be manual becasue 3rd and 2nd still share the same position.
Anybody have any experience or comments about these trannies?

• Sponsors (?)

my buddy had a Lentech street terminator AOD on his fox body.. behind a hot 347.. it was AWESOME! The tranny seemed very solid, came from Lentech looking top notch. I was pleased........... I have no experience with TCI.. but being its your tranny, I wouldnt mind spending the extra 500 for a Lentech.

about 8 years ago I had a TCI trans and converter... It never did feel right and after 6 months it ate itself.

About a year ago in a different mustang I tried a PA. well it never even got down the road without having problem.

After having problems with each one I ended up at a local shop having them build a trans for me. There is really nothing that any of these companies do that a good trans shop can not do..

Bill

Low86GT said:
about 8 years ago I had a TCI trans and converter... It never did feel right and after 6 months it ate itself.

About a year ago in a different mustang I tried a PA. well it never even got down the road without having problem.

After having problems with each one I ended up at a local shop having them build a trans for me. There is really nothing that any of these companies do that a good trans shop can not do..

Bill

Good point.......... another option is to grab one of the master rebuild kits off of like http://www.ford-aode.com/ and take it to your local shop. They will know what is weak in the AODE, AOD, etc....

Yea,a GOOD transmission shop.