Minor accident.

vegeta_nc

Apr 20, 2004
Houston, TX
Hello fellow mustang enthusiasts. I rear ended someone last night about half a mile away from home. And of course I got all the damage. It was raining and rush hour. I crossed a 4 lane busy road at a light and heard and saw a cop with lights and sirens on about 50 feet to the left of me. After I crossed the road I looked in my mirrors to see if the cop was coming my way so I could pull off to the side like most other people do. But people infront of me stopped cause someone was turning. And I didn't look forward in time and smacked into a small car like a toyota camery. All she got was a huge wide scratch on her bumper. I've been driveing for 10 years and this is the first time I'm on this side of an accident.

My car is a 1991 2.3L. We found a whole parts car that is a 1988 2.3L model that has been sitting for a few years. It's on the other side of town so we haven't even seen it yet.

Will the bumper, hood, and core support fit? I know I need alot more then that but those seem to be the large important parts.

We all love to see pics so I put them up here.

Thanks in advance for the help.

• Sponsors (?)

The 88 parts will fit but the wheel opening on the fender is a little smaller than the 91. Your damage looks a lot like what happened to me over Christmas. It looks like to me that you don’t need a new core support. The part that looks damaged is called the header panel, it is what the headlights and bumper cover bolt to. You can find a reproduction on ebay or 50resto.com.

Dan

You sure have my sympathy....I hit a deer over Christmas and it did $8000 damage to my 94 Town Car. Of course, I had just had it painted and installed a complet new air suspension system....ugh. It happens so quick, and the damage is soooo nasty.

Good luck on the repairs...I hope it all works ok and everything fits. I don't suppose that the junk yard car is the same color as your.....