Need buying advice - '69 Grande

mbwortham

Aug 8, 2004
I just started looking for a project car and spotted a '69 Grande that I thought looked like a fair deal. The asking price is $2,000. I'm going to check out the car tomorrow, but I have a tendency to impulse buy, so I figured I'd ask for advice before going to see it. Here is what I do know about it:

- V8 - the owner is unsure which motor though - my assumption is the 302
- the car was last inspected in '99 (I deduce that it must have been running then)
- will not start - just clicks from the starter with a known good battery
- current owner purchased it about 2 years ago and never got it started - sounds like it just sat under a tarp
- good straight body - primered and ready for paint
- some rust in areas such as the floorpans
- good glass all around
- new vinyl top
- needs a lot of interior work - cracked dash, etc.
- had factory A/C but the compressor has since been removed
- auto transmission
- clear title

I am no expert, but I think I could spot any obvious chassis damage - rust, shotty repairs, etc. I DO plan on trying to salvage the motor and tranny if at all possible. I guess I would be taking a bit of a gamble on the motor since the thing won't even start. For that matter there is no telling if the tranny is any good either. Would I be crazy to buy this thing, or is it worth the risk?

Is this car worth the asking price? This will be my first project car - am I getting in over my head? Also what I really would like would be a fastback with a manual tranny. This one still caught my eye for some reason. I'm not a big fan of the vinyl top though. Couldn't the vinyl be removed and the hardtop painted? What do you guys think? Should I go for it?

- Mark

• Sponsors (?)

mbwortham said: