New Guy

Good Morning! I'm brand new to this forum currently interested in looking for a Mustang. I'm trying to decide between a S197 or a New Edge. It will be a pure weekend car and must be a convertible and a manual trans. I'm not interested in the 11' and up S197's because I feel they def do not look as good and the prices are a bit high. That said, I always wanted a New Edge because that was a hot car when I graduated high school (2001). I know they are a bit slow but I heard can get really woken up with a set of good heads (TFS or ported) and run with modern cars. That said, what is the opinion between the S197 4.6 and the 2V. I hear the S197 has severe cam phaser issues that could cost a ton in repairs or even a new motor. I look forward to the discussion.

• Sponsors (?)

Both the 2v and 3v are good options if you find a well maintained one. I wouldn’t out the gate try to compare them to the new coyote powered mustangs - the new mustangs have over 100hp and upgrades in nearly every department. Heads aren’t going to be enough to keep up, you need a blower.

if your goal is to have a fun car - both the 2v and 3v are solid. There is a huge aftermarket. I would focus on which body style / what features you like. The 3v weighs a little more but has much better heads, a panhard bar for better handling, and better seating position / interior space (all are fixable, I’ve fixed all those 2v deficiencies :) )

Both the 2v and 3v are good options if you find a well maintained one. I wouldn’t out the gate try to compare them to the new coyote powered mustangs - the new mustangs have over 100hp and upgrades in nearly every department. Heads aren’t going to be enough to keep up, you need a blower.