Rocker Install, Pushrod Length Problem?

mostsmooth

Nov 12, 2002
hi all

95 mustang gt

preface: i have no real knowledge of anything related to an engine or repairs.
i know how to change my oil, i know how to change brakes, i know how to follow instructions.

now, imo there has always been a bit too much noise coming from under my valve covers. others had done work to the engine, and i assumed they knew what they were doing.

at one point the car had a supercharger which i removed when a bearing went bad.

so, just to see if i could do it, i took the top half of the engine apart and swapped in a new cam.
the cam that i replaced was a ford letter cam that allegedly matched the charger. i think it was an E but might have been X.

when i took the cam out, it was worn in a couple places, one lobe was obviously damaged a bit (i think it was cylinder 6).

i put in a comp cam, new cam is comp cam CCA-35-351-8.
when i put things back together, i put in all new hydraulic lifters. 1 was damaged badly, so i replaced all.
when i had the heads off, i took them to a shop and the guy cleaned them up. i dont remember him doing anything with the valves, but even if he did, i think it wouldnt cause my problem. i am thinking that if he cut the valves or shaved the heads or whatever, then that would effectively make the rods longer, which is the opposite of my problem.

i used regular head gaskets.

rockers are 1.6 ford roller rockers. they are not shimmed.
pushrods as far as i know are stock. i measured them with a ruler to get a ballpark length and they are just a tad over 6.25" so perhaps they are actually stock if stock is like 6.27" i think.