1965 basic questions

HVYMETALDRVR

Jun 6, 2018
OH
Please bear with me as I'll pretty new to the hobby, finally have money and time to mess around. This my first ever project car so I'm a bit of a noob, but my ears are open to learn.

I bought a 1965 hardtop (not fastback) last week, ran and drove okay, threw some brand new tires on it, but it looks like its gotten an oil leak, probably under the oil pan and it also appears the exhaust isn't attached correctly though I'm thinking of replacing it all together anyways. Almost no rust though, except for the hood, garaged it's whole life and mostly original everything. I'm looking forward to turning wrenches on it this week after I get a house project fixed.

Anyways, the car has the 289 trim on the side, but it's a straight 6 so obviously one of the two is incorrect. I haven't been able to get underneath it yet to see if the tranny matches, but I did get the number of the engine C5DE 6015-H. Does anyone have a website to decode that? The VIN decoder from this site says it was a built in 1965 in Dearborn, MI., and that the car was originally built with the I6200CID1V. I also talked the guys at the local part store and their database didn't show any of the 1965 models ever having a straight 6? However both the VIN, engine number, and owners manual that came with it, all indicate that this a 1965. Google searches aren't yielding much either. I'm just trying to confirm that I get the right parts. In my exuberance I forgot to ask if this was a numbers matching car, though I'm not looking to flip it anyways. If someone could point me in the right direction and shed some more light on this car I'd appreciate it!

Thanks in advance. You'll probably be hearing more from me, I"ll post some pics tomorrow!

• Sponsors (?)