1967 Mustang Disc Brake Swap Question

rustaddict

Aug 23, 2014
My uncle recently bought a 1967 Mustang coupe that still has front drum brakes. He has also acquired a pair of front spindles,rotors, and calipers that are supposed to be off of a 1977 Maverick. Will these work ok on his car? What else will he need to change to complete the swap?

• Sponsors (?)

From another forum, see #10:

I am owner of CSRP and operate the website http://discbrakeswap.com .
I have a lot of experience with 60's and 70's Ford spindles. Here is my guide for classic Ford based on the Falcon chassis.

There are a lot of opinions, right and wrong concerning the disc brake swaps for 60s and 70s Ford. I have made it my business over the last 15 months to get to know these systems.

Spindle Types (more properly called steering knuckles).
Many of Fords compact and intermediate car line in the 60s and 70s were based on the Falcon chassis. These included Falcon, 65-73 Mustangs, Mavericks, Granada, some Torino, some Fairlanes, the Mercury cousins, and others. The basic suspensions in all of those cars are the same, with minor differences in outer tie rods.

60-80 Falcon Chassis models had at least 12 varieties of spindles.

1. A light weight 60-62 drum spindle used on Falcon/Comet.

2. A light weight drum brake spindle used with 6 cylinder cars 63-66. Used on 64-66 Mustang, and on 63-65 Falcon.

3. A 63-66 drum spindle which was adapted for disk brake use using a bracket. This is the 8 cylinder spindle and is relatively lightweight and was originally designed for 10" drum brake application. This spindle has slightly different steering arm/tie rod geometry than all future Falcon based spindles. This spindle uses a slightly larger outer tie rod mounting hole than the previous types. This was used on 64-66 Mustangs, and on 63-65 Falcons.