1967 Shelby Cobra GT 500 Mustang ("Eleanor")

SlnLax43

May 5, 2004
It will be many years off but when I get the money I will be spending it on the "Eleanor" car and for that much money I want to get a genuine, not a clone. How exactly would I be able to tell this? I have some experience with Mustangs since I turned my 2000 base V6 into a Saleen replica (pics coming soon) with sound system, chrome wheels, and much more coming (including upgrades to 400 HP) and did all the work myself but don't know as much about the older 'Stangs. Thanks

-Mike

• Sponsors (?)

But don't forget shelby is starting to produce his models with vin numbers and all......for $125,500!!!! All you will get is a clone of the movie car. But They sell body kits and options specifically made to make your own clone. That is too much money to spend to make your car look like everyone elses. IMO, add the body kit, get the performance you want, but make it your own car. unless you want to spend $125K on an original. But even those are made from 1967 shelby's that are rebuilt frame up. Good luck....this is such a tired subject!!

65straightsick said:
But don't forget shelby is starting to produce his models with vin numbers and all......for $125,500!!!! All you will get is a clone of the movie car. But They sell body kits and options specifically made to make your own clone. That is too much money to spend to make your car look like everyone elses. IMO, add the body kit, get the performance you want, but make it your own car. unless you want to spend $125K on an original. But even those are made from 1967 shelby's that are rebuilt frame up. Good luck....this is such a tired subject!!

Why even bother to talk about it then :shrug:

Well, Larry at LA Mustang (the best mustang guy in ALL of UTAH) gets a lot of people wanting some type of Elanor. I think he has put together a couple of fastbacks. Right now he is working on a 68 convertable. It has a real Boss 302 with an old school paxton supercharger.