302 EFI - need help w/tuning

stangman16

Nov 16, 2004
San Antonio, TX
Hi,

I'm fairly new to EFI even though it's been a project for a couple years, I haven't gotten it to work correctly yet.

1980 302 - nonHO firing order
Holley electric fuel pump
19# injectors
stock upper/lower intake
stock MAF (or it should be...)
still got the 60amp alt, have a 3G i'll be putting in soon

I had originally swapped the injector wires to get this project running - but it was sluggish and backfired through the intake. So, I bought a quarterhorse and Binary Editor to correct the injector firing order. Changed the injector harness and the firing order on the EEC.

It seems like it may be running better, but everytime I give it gas it gets sluggish and then picks up on the RPM's (no tach yet...) Sometimes it still does a small backfire through the intake.

Here's what I've got, and according to the readings I'm running rich. I have the fordfuelinjection diode kit for my EGR (since it's removed) and the car seems to idle better with the air filter removed.

These pictures were taken at idle... which is approx 700-800 rpms, not the 13685 it shows onscreen.

BinaryEditor_Log1a2.gif

If i'm not mistaken, it's indicating my air fuel ratio is 24 ?? (could this be from the EGR eliminator kit I bought from fordfuelinjection? It was still throwing a code for the EGR)

How can I correct the rich condition (if it's true - which I kinda believe when I give it gas and it stumbles and then accelerates)?

BinaryEditor_Log1a3.gif

• Sponsors (?)

You can't use the AFR data signal unless you have a WideBand O2 hooked up through the EGR wiring.

You should be looking at your HEGO1 & 2 sensors...

Your TPS is over 2v at idle... there is an issue...

Are you getting any diagnostic codes?
double check for vac leaks and exhaust leaks... these will make it IMPOSSIBLE to get a good tune...

You can't use the AFR data signal unless you have a WideBand O2 hooked up through the EGR wiring.