69 Carburetor and Intake manifold.

stinger86

Nov 16, 2010
Hey guys,

Im not a car expert by any means. I bought my 69 3 weeks ago for $3500 and the only real reason was that it was running. SInce i don't know much about cars i'd figured a car that runs is a better project for now until i get to know it down to science. My engine is a 302 coupe. MY questions are

I want a 4 barreled carburetor. Im pretty sure Elderbrock is a great start. What should i look for? How high the CFM? Electric choke? etc.....

The intake manifold. Since i want a 4 barreled carburetor what type and model should be good? Thanx for all the help!!

Also, I don't really want mega drag performance, i want daily driving with noticeable power. Thanx again!!

• Sponsors (?)

An Edelbrock 500 cfm on a Performer (less expensive) or Performer RPM (if you plan future engine upgrades) manifold. You can even get a pre-bent steel fuel line for this from Glazier/Nolan.

To maximize power you should get the distributor recurved to performance specs. It's probably out of whack anyway.

Getting the distributor recurved. That just means amping the current one up or is it rebuilding the current one. I'm thinking of just getting a new one. All i know is the connectors are pretty old and replacing them will help a little. Would a normal shop be able to recurve or is it simple enough for me. Thanx!

Getting the distributor recurved. That just means amping the current one up or is it rebuilding the current one. I'm thinking of just getting a new one. All i know is the connectors are pretty old and replacing them will help a little. Would a normal shop be able to recurve or is it simple enough for me. Thanx!