Interior and Upholstery Best Brand of Top for First Time

1989FoxFan

Jan 19, 2020
Michigan
Hello, I was debating about replacing the top in my mustang and this is the first time I have ever replaced a top. I would prefer a glass window because I have read about the plastic windows yellowing and I prefer glass to begin with. I am looking for a brand that is an easier too to install since it is my first time

Best Regards

• Sponsors (?)

Replacing the top isn't too bad. I usually order from convertibletopguys.com

I recommend replacing the cables. One on each side. Getting a roll of black gorilla tape ( for the front header and to cover sharp edges. Use stainless steel staples. Get new tack strips.

When doing tops I usually try to reuse the factory padding. Most top kits will have a sleeve for each side and thin foam. I like the tighter plusher look of using the foam over the original padding wrapped in the new vinyl sleeves. Make sure you pull all the staples out. I use cutting pliers for that. Be really careful with weatherstrip you plan to reuse. Sometimes they are two sided taped or glued on. ( PITA ). They aren't supposed to be....but people did it anyways.

A heat gun comes in handy. You don't want to heat it up too much but it helps to warm it a little to get the top to latch after putting the new top on. Its supposed to be tight and will relax with a couple days in the sun.

The hardest part is keeping waves out of the corners of the top at the quarter panels. This has a lot to do with positioning on the tack rails and shimming them.

Haartz makes really good tops. The best in my opinion.