Engine Build On A Budget?

I guess my last thread was a little much. I am new to all this so some help would be appreciated :) I've narrowed it down I believe... I'm on a tight budget of around $1,000 since I also need the car repainted next spring. My car is somewhat mostly stock... I want to be around 300HP. What is my best option and most horsepower on a budget build? A turbo..? Or an H/I/C build? Any ideas? Again I am on a tight budget of around $1,000. Please help!:)

• Sponsors (?)

nitrous....

used is going to be your best friend. watch the classifieds. personally i would just wait till you have more cash and do it right. gt40ps, explorer intake, and a cam will get you under 1k, but won't get you 300hp.

I would go about this all differently. You can't say "I need 300 HP for $This Much Money". You would be better off either saving up for a better top end setup than you can currently afford, of just take your money and start doing the bolt-on game like most people start off doing. I personally am more into the suspension upgrades than I am power. Adding 300 HP to a stock suspension just means you will need to buy more tires soon after the mods. If you can't put the power to the pavement... what's the point of having it??? It's like a dog that's all bark and no bite.

I guess I should first ask, what does your car have done to it already?

Reactions: 1 user
Hate to say it but a grand is barely a drop in the bucket these days homeslice. Even the used explorer gt40 crap isn't all that cheap anymore. To give you and idea of what kind of power it'd make the 95 cobra was rated at 250 horse if memory serves. Sometime back one of the mags added gt40 heads to a fox and gained 27 hp at the rear. As for the bolt-on game that's pretty much what it is, a game. $200-$500 dollars thrown here and there multiple times to gain 0-10 horse here and there w 10 being the exception more than the rule

Last edited: