Building up a Carbed 2.3 Turbo

chaka

Founding Member
Mar 1, 2002
Boston, MA
I have the complete engine. The block is going to need the ridge reamed, but once this is performed do you think a hone is needed? I can see the original cross hatching. Plan on installing some dished forged pistons and rods from an 88 TC to lower compression. and pick up a new carb for it (any suggestions? engine will be for a street driven car with twisties in mind). Mild porting and gasket matching. Any suggestions for head gasket?

Any information at all would be appreciated. Thanks

Do you guys know where I can pick up the crossunder tube that supplies the turbo??

• Sponsors (?)

I've only re-built one stock 2.3L engine, so I'm no expert. But I am wondering how you have a ridge at the top and can still see the cross hatching. Personally I would hone it if the pistons are large enough to still fit afterwards.

Which head are you using?

What is the pattern of the carb mount on the turbo intake side like? Holley 2bbl? Weber 2bbl? What happened to the stock carb? I would stick to something around 350-390 cfm until you know that you need more.

I've seen pics of this setup, but never one close up. In fact one sold on eBay a few months ago and I was mighty tempted...until I looked at the projects I already had going! ;)

On the cross under, you would probably have to have a custom one made since you are going into a different chassis. I'd look at getting the shop to use mandrel bent tubing angles or have them bend a larger than stock diameter pipe.

Maybe I was seeing things, but I thought I did. Will obviously check again. engine is just sitting now.

I have the stock carb, but it is in rough shape and would need a rebuild. I guess I am going the lazy route by just not rebuilding. I will budget in a new carb and see what floats.

I have the stock head. was told a turbo cam and ranger rollers would be a good choice with lots of porting.