Cause I'm A Newb With No Idea!! Intakes!

gtimms

Jul 21, 2012
South Jersey
OK, I'm kind of all over with this somewhat resto build I'm doing. I wanted to buy a set of nice GT40 heads and a member & made me a nice offer that I had to pass on because I found some basic issues on the car that needed addressing first. That being said, I'm always looking around to see if I can find a deal/ steal on CL. I've been looking at intakes and Gt 40s/ Explorer take offs/ Cobras are all over Im just confused and need some direction.
As far as the temp sensor goes I got that its OK to move?
The ERG needs it? Ok to get rid of? Whats the deal with it when going to an Explorer Upper?
Throttle body stock 5.0 will fit but needs linkage modification is all I can find, but what mods? Any direction would be appreciated Thanks!

• Sponsors (?)

The computer needs the temp sensor. The egr puts un burnt fumes back into your intake. It is a emissions device and supposedly gets you better gas mileage. I deleted mine and haven't noticed any change. Do you have your smog equipment hooked up? If not the egr isn't really doing anything. Before I deleted the egr in my tune I got rid of all emissions equipment and just left the egr plugged in so I wouldn't get a code. You must change the upper and lower intake when you move to anything other than a stock intake.. The ports will not line up by just switching the uppers.

In a wierd set up the way I bought it was that it has a catless H pipe smog pump and tubes still hooked up. So I guess its 50 - 50 in that ears. I know I need both upper & lower. The temp sensor is confusing me some say let it lay there other say move it before the TB? Then there is the TB I can find what mods it needs to hook up to the stang from the explorer??