Degreed Cam in an EFI 5.0 problems...

Malibutommy

Jun 15, 2008
I posted a question a few days ago and got a bunch of good responses and I checked everything and my 5.0 still won't idle correctly. I have the cam advanced 2 degrees with the kit from Summit and I'm wondering if anyone knows if this would cause my truck to not idle correctly? I'm new to EFI performance (I have done lots and lots of carbed engines)... Would the computer not read things correctly and cause the truck not to idle and surge under steady load when trying to drive???

Background: 1989 F-150 4x4 5-speed 5.0 with a larger than stock cam (204/214 @ 0.50/ 0.448/0.472 lift) MAF conversion out of a 91 Mustang GT, long tubes and hours and hours of diagnostic work...:mad:

Any responses or help would be greatly appreciated. Thank you in advance

• Sponsors (?)

It has the firing order for the non-HO 5.0 and the injectors are wired as such. I called Summit today to double check the cam firing order and it is the same as the non-HO... I ran the KOEO self-test the other day and used my test light to read the codes and I got 31 (EGR- expected since I removed it and haven't gotten the simulator yet) 67 (Neutral Safety Switch- Clutch Switch works fine) and 85 (Canister Purge Soilenoid circuit failure-wouldn't cause it to not idle)

I'm at a loss... I have checked everything else and the TPS is fine, IAC is good and clean, MAF is working properly, both oxygen sensors are wired in correctly, MAP has the vacuum line removed and line is plugged coming from the intake, firing order is correct on injectors and the plug wires. Any help would be great. Thank You