Dizzy newb! Whats wrong here? w/ pic

bloopbloob

Sep 27, 2006
Alberta
if any of u remember from before, i had been trying to advance my timing, but the connector to the dizzy hit my waterneck on the tstat housing. so i yanked it, rotated and restabbed to a position that would allow me to advance it more. but its not right, i'm pretty sure. this is a pic of it now. where my finger is is #1 spark plug wire on the cap. i've never done this before, so i'm looking for some guidance. does the pic help at all right now? should i find tdc first and then see where the rotor points? when i try to set timing (before, and now after yanking it) i havent been able to get pinging. it stalls out at about 5*, and i can advance it to over 30*, and then it dies too, but i never get pinging. i know im screwing something up....
2591090_33_full.jpg

• Sponsors (?)

first off is the sput connector removed? Second, what you want to do is pull the dizzy, get underneath the car and find the markings and using a breaker bar turn the engine over until the 0* is on the end of the timing pointer, then you restab the dizzy hoping you get it in pointing directly to the number one cyl(I marked mine under the cap) Restab it untill you get it working and it often won't ping until it is put under load/revved high.

Set it around 13-14* BTDC and your done!!

And pinging is a bad thing :nice: it means you are igniting the spark too early and could end up bending a valve...