Exhaust Choices for a 87 GT, Prefer Not to go Flowmaster

Todd Hanna

Sep 17, 2012
Hi all,
I am new to the foxbody world but have a 04GT that I have owned for a years and before that I was a DSM man. I have been around the block and have just come into a project car on a 87GT. It needs a new exhaust and I would rather not go with a baffled muffler as I am not sure what direction this car will take. I currently have a MAC O/R prochamber to a borla stinger on my 04GT and this is the best sounding exhaust for my year mustang that money can buy. Do you guys have any suggestions for a similar setup for this 87GT? Any help or insight you guys can offer would be awesome.
Thanks guys

• Sponsors (?)

You'll get a million and one different opinions on exhaust...
All I can do is tell you what I have run, and how I liked it.

Shorties, ORH, and Mac Flowpath... Love it. #1 in my opinion. Not the highest flowing mufflers out there, not the quietest or loudest, and different enough from the FM sound to make me happy.

Equal Mac shorties, ORX, home-made cat-back, using Dynomax race bullets... Great sound, definitely not the run of the mill Blowmaster sound, and flows like open pipe... (FMs for example, flow under 400 cfm per muffler, Magnaflows are close to 500 cfm, but Dynomax Race bullets flow 2800 cfm!) They are not loud either, until... you put the throttle down.

Long tubes, true duals, custom made, with same Dynomax bullets... Still sounds awesome, but does sound different than the other variation we tried. Volume didn't change, but it sounds like an old school musclecar, not an EFI 5.0. That is the biggest appeal for me.

Shorties, ORH, and SLP Loudmouth... LOUD is he key here. Way too loud. Did I mention it is obnoxiously loud? Hate it.

I am working on another variation right now, but haven't got it up and running yet...
Equal Mac Shorties, ORX, and Mac Flowpath...