EXPLORER : PAINT CORRECTION & DETAIL - Chemical Guys Products LOTS Of Pics

fiveoho

15 Year Member
Apr 28, 2005
TN
let me start off by saying that this is by no means a professional grade detail. this is my first attempt of minor paint correction. i have even never used a dual action or orbital before. i have learned there is a huge learning curve with this (as expected) and all sorts of options from pad choices, to products and the machine itself. this is something i have wanted to learn how to do for a long time. the only way to figure it out is try it. with no experience, i wanted a machine that was forgiving. i chose the porter cable 7424xp. the last thing i wanted to do was burn the paint. the test mule for this was my 98 explorer. with nearly 200,000 miles on the clock and LOTS of neglect from previous ownership ( and myself ), this made a good candidate for a practice vehicle. however, along with all that neglect comes severe paint damage - especially on the hood. i was able to remove a good amount of the swirls and some scratches but there is ALOT of imperfections left. the hood is terrible. water etchinng, clear coat damage, outlined bird droppings, bug splatters...its bad. i have a decent camera but not good enough to pick up all the damage still left behind. i did not have the correct lighting to properly show the befores and afters. even as a novice, the job turned out pretty decent. after all the work, the paint is far from perfect but def an improvement. quite a bit of depth and color was restored to the finish. it needed to be clayed but time wasn't an advocate. overall, i think it looks ok.

inside and outside were detailed with minimal time spent on the interior and alot more could have been spent on the exterior. 8 hours total.

interior

simple green 50/50 mix
CG silk shine
magnum power fabric refresher

wheels

eagle one a-z wheel & tire

wash

initial wash : CG citruswash & gloss (1oz to 1gal)
simple green 50/50 mix
turtle wax bug & tar remover