HELP!!! Bucking and Jerking at cruising speed

88GTStreetRod

Jan 5, 2004
USA
My car bucks and jerks in 3rd,4th or 5th gear when I try to maintain a steady speed.

I have replaced everything that I can think of, new throtle body, new mass air (cleared up the idle surge), EGR Valve, TPS settings, Idle settings, Idle air control, Fuel presure regulator, oxygen sensors, MSD box, coil, rotor cap, plug wires, spark plugs, You name it, I have looked at it. I am still new at this so I think I have covered my bases. Oh yah, my rpm needle with flickers between 5,000 rpm and 2,000 rpm if I get on it hard. Engine sounds fine, no flickering there, except at cruising speeds.

Please help? any ideas?

• Sponsors (?)

Have you replaced the tps Maybe it has dead spots. Some people say they unplug the 10 pin connectors and add dielectric grease and some issues cleared up.

sounds like a fuel problem... do you have a AFPR? if not, you could always go to autozone and buy a fuel pressure checker and check it with the shrader valve on your fuel rail, then stick that puppy back in the box and return it =) hehehehe

The TPS is brand new, do you think I could have a problem with a new one? I will try anything. I have dumped $4K into this car in the last month. If i do not get it running right, I may be forced to light it on fire!

5.0Droptop said:
Have you replaced the tps Maybe it has dead spots. Some people say they unplug the 10 pin connectors and add dielectric grease and some issues cleared up.

The only codes that I received when hooked up, was computer failer. However, the instructions said if the battery was recently disconected then ignore. I had the battery disconnected before hand. No other error codes appeared.

jrichker said:
Dump the codes and see what the computer says is wrong…

Here's the link to dump the computer codes with only a jumper wire or paper clip and the check engine light, or test light or voltmeter. I’ve used it for years, and it works great.