Help With Bucking And Stalling 1990 Mustang Lx

Cameron Nulton

Jul 8, 2017
Hey everybody, reaching out because I just bought a 1990 mustang and it was running fine, now just a week or two later, it started bucking and the engine stalls after idling for a little bit.

Pulled koeo codes :
Koer:

This is the first mustang I've owned and I have some experience working on cars (currently in an automotive program.)
I have a 1990 mustang shop manual but doesn't give much help on codes for some reason, not sure if maybe it's in a different one

• Sponsors (?)

Ok, so it's saying that my ECT, ACT AND fuel pump circuits are open and that my MAF voltage input is less than the maximum. I have a 1990 mustang shop manual but doesn't seem to say anything about codes at all not even a list of them. Are they in the engine/emission diagnosis manual possibly?

Code 51 Engine Coolant Temperature (ECT) sensor signal is/was too high -

[color= blue]Revised 6-Apr-2017 to add diagrams and resistance check for ECT wiring.[/color]

Possible bad ECT sensor or wiring. Possible missing signal ground – black/wire broken or bad connection. With the power off, measure the resistance between the black/white wire and battery ground. You should see less than 1 ohm. Check the same black /white wire on the TPS and MAP sensor. More than 1 ohm there and the wire is probably broken in the harness between the engine and the computer. The 10 pin connectors pass the black/white wire back to the computer, and can cause problems.

The computer Engine Coolant Temperature sensor has absolutely nothing to do with the temperature gauge. They are different animals. The ECT sensor is normally located it the passenger side front of the engine in the water feed tubes for the heater. It has two wires that connect by a weathertight plastic connector.