• Auto

Votes: 24 28.9%
  • Stick

Votes: 59 71.1%

• Total voters

Power4

May 10, 2004
Rochester, NY
Well I'm finally almost ready to buy a new 'stang and the only decision I'm having a problem with is to get a stick or an auto tranny. The main reasons I'd opt for the auto is I've had limited experience driving cars with a manual transmission; just my friends' cheap Chevys or Nissans. Plus there aren't many Mustangs on the lots around here with a stick. Here's an outline of the reasons for each I keep thinking about:

Manual:
- It's a V8 muscle car, it's gotta have a stick.
- More fun.

Auto:
- Easier to drive in traffic.
- I'm not terribly experienced with a stick.
- Easier to negotiate a lower price with the dealer because of lower demand.
- Tons more on the lots than manuals so more choice and easier to negotiate price.

• Sponsors (?)

I've also had limited experience with a stick but my current mustang that i'm trading in is an auto and the 07 i ordered is a stick. I didn't care how good i was at it b/c i know i'll get better, and like you said its a muscle car it has to be stick :D

Autos start at almost a grand more to start with so the ability to negotiate a lower price is kind of a moot point since there are dealers that will sell for 500 over invoice if you look hard enough. Perhaps even lower. I am getting a manual b/c then I don't have to have my wife trying to borrow my car, the only reason I would even consider going with an auto in my new stang is to make it easier on my designated drivers. I will sacrafice that if it's my only reason.

never driven a stick before, picking up my 06 next week, and its stick. gonna have some fun. i dont wanna regret nto gettign it later on down the road. and as others have said, its a muscle car, arent you supposed to bang through the gears yourself? had a quick lesson this past week in a 92 gt, pretty easy to get the hang of, just getting going is the hardest part, but after maybe 15 minutes i got it down.