How Does This Combo Look? (fti Cam, By Ed Curtis)

stealth886

Oct 29, 2016
So I am no engine expert by any means, that is why I decided to go with Ed Curtis at FTI to grind me a custom camshaft. This is what my combo will be:

331 Rotating Assembly
Edelbrock Performer RPM heads, 2.02 intake, 1.60 exhaust
Ported 1993 Cobra Intake Manifold (by TMoss)
Long tube headers
36 LB injectors
AOD with stall converter
4.11 Rear gears

Here are the cam specs he made for me:

ADV Duration: IN 278, EXH 282
DUR @ .50: 226/230
Valve Lift: .607/.585
Lobe Sep: 112.0

Can someone that is good with engines and obviously has more experience than me chime in on this combo, and if you think this camshaft will mesh well with my combo. Will this camshaft sound aggressive?

• Sponsors (?)

What specs of a camshaft make it necessarily sound aggressive? Piston to valve clearance has been measured and the cam has been degreed. Is a few months off from being put in the car, and I am dumb when it comes to what the different specs of the cam mean, as far as duration and lobe separation. Thank you for the reply.

Overlap,duration,centerline,etc will give you an idea of the "sound" as far as that goes. Knowing Ed and looking at those numbers...it will have some "lope" and run well in the mid/upper rpms(3-6k). The heads and intake will be the limiting factor in the long run(if wanting more). Your combo sounds fairly stout and will be a nice street/strip combo.

Overlap,duration,centerline,etc will give you an idea of the "sound" as far as that goes. Knowing Ed and looking at those numbers...it will have some "lope" and run well in the mid/upper rpms(3-6k). The heads and intake will be the limiting factor in the long run(if wanting more). Your combo sounds fairly stout and will be a nice street/strip combo.
Thank you for your reply. I am excited to get it together and get it on a dyno.

He ground the one in my 331 with AFR's and HSM2.

.613/.588
.227/235