is this cam too big?

jerry S

Sep 3, 2003
52.22N 5.12E
I have a 351W with Edelbrock Performer RPM alum cly heads, wiseco forged flat top pistons, and a holly 650 double pumper with vac. secondaries running 11:1 compression. What do you think about this cam shaft in my application?

lift: intake=538 / exhaust=534
duration at .50: intake=236 / exhaust=242
adv. dur: intake=297 / exhaust=308

• Sponsors (?)

jerry S said:
I have a 351W with Edelbrock Performer RPM alum cly heads, wiseco forged flat top pistons, and a holly 650 double pumper with vac. secondaries running 11:1 compression. What do you think about this cam shaft in my application?

lift: intake=538 / exhaust=534
duration at .50: intake=236 / exhaust=242
adv. dur: intake=297 / exhaust=308

I think it should work good, but im not a cam expert, but there are others on this board that are, hopefully they will chime in :nice:

How about calling the cam manufacturer and asking them :shrug: just an idea.

My bad

brianj5600 said:
Why pull out a custom cam for this one? What are your current specs?

this is my current cam. I should have been more clear on that. This cam already broke the springs on a Trick flow twisted wedge cyl head assembly before switching to the Edelbrocks. I was told that I am courting trouble with this cam if I really push the motor.

thanks for the advice

I was told by some schmuck holding himself out as an expert that my cam was too big. I know that when the builder was breaking in the rebuild on a dyno, he heard a spring breaking. Sure enough, an inspection revealed a busted spring. He felt that Trick Flows were not right for the cam and swapped them for the Edelbrocks. As for the carb, I don't understand the smirks regarding my description. My invoice reads as follows: "Carb - Holley 659 double pump, dual line, vacume secondary Qty: 1, price $369.53." I lifted my description from the invoice.

Can somebody explain me what is wrong with my description?

I also don't think it is too big.