Moving From Porsche To Mustang, Seeking Reliability And Simplicity

MThomas

Jun 30, 2016
I've been wrenching Porsche's for about ten years but am now in need of a four seater and the Mustang, IMHO, is the best looking four seater out there.
I know nothing about working on them though.
Hence I'd like to solicit opinions on which Mustang generation (GT manual only, not interested in V6 or automatic) is both the simplest design (i.e. easy to DIY) as well as the most reliable (i.e. less time in the garage the better)...?

• Sponsors (?)

What type of changes are you looking to make that will require work? The car is very serviceable in general, what is the intended purpose of the car? Street cruiser, drag race, road course? I think you will find the S550 platform most near to the handling characteristics that your Porsche had.

Not looking to do many mods, if any. Maybe beefier sway bars and wheel spacers and a new paint job but that would be it. It would be used both as a daily driver at times and also for road trips. I just don't want to get into something that is constantly in disrepair and that's makes for overly complicated DIY maintenance.
I referenced the prior Porsche experience not to get a comparable car, I think they're just two very different animals, but rather to see if anyone who has/had both could opine on which Mustang generation is easier to maintain.

In the Porsche world, newer = more moving parts = less DIY friendly = not what I'm looking for. If someone asked me the reverse question I'd tell them something like:
"From '99-'05 the IMS bearing was prone to failure which resulted in acute CEF. The bearing can be upgraded, ideally while re-doing the clutch, for about $1k-$2k. From '06-'08 the bearing was encased within the engine block so upgrading it was far more costly so stay away from '06-'08 models. Starting in '09 a re-design did away with the bearing so, if within the budget, get as close to an '09 as possible."