My New 1987 Gt Vert...

techforlife

Dec 29, 2017
So,,i`ve been reading \long a bunch of times here since I bought my NEW to me 1987 Mustang GT Convertible..asked a question to a member here and received good advise and posted in the welcome thread..i was then asked to post up my story with some pictures,,so here we go..

I first saw these cars when I was an apprentice mechanic in 1986 or 1987..loved the body style and the sound of the v8 engine..fast forward a pile of years andi was shopping for a KTM690R street/trail motorcycle..

I already have a Honda XR650L that is highly modified..so much so that about the only thing stock or not performance is the seat..lol.. but it is my toy and mechanics aren`t known for leaving stuff alone,,and I was always a diagnostic tech and engine builder so the bike engine was gone through at least 4 times in 10 years in search of power and performance..

So I was about to pull the trigger on a newer bike when I decided to go in a complete different direction,,i have been looking at fox body Mustangs for years,,never finding one close or in the condition I wanted..the wife wanted a convertible although she can`t drive and has health issues where she never will without being a risk on the road..

So I was looking on Autotrader and found the car I wanted,,couldn`t believe it actually..price was high but you never pay asking price..lol

Told my wife years ago my next car would be a "fly and drive" ... meaning I fly out somewhere and drive it back..she thought it could be risky..but it`s not that bad if you know cars,,ask the right questions and see lots of pictures..

So,,in a 2 week period I found the car,verified the condition with pictures and a Carfax and we flew out of town to drive an unknown car 17 hours to get back home..

The seller said everything was perfect,,well it was,,mostly lol