Nasty sqeaking/creaking... Bad ball joints?

rocketv6

Jun 15, 2009
Loxahatchee, FL
I have a really loud (and embarassing in public) squeaking/creaking noise from my front end. It happens while braking slightly, steering while not accelerating, driving over any bumps in the road, even just turning the wheel while stopped. I'm dumber as a box of rocks as far as suspension goes, but I'm guessing ball joints (and have been told by an uncle: most likely ball joints). Or maybe some ends or bushings down there.

If it's not a big wallet-buster, I might just have them replaced at a shop (if that ends up being the problem). I don't have some of the tools required to do springs and all of the fun stuff related, so I'm trying to find an easy way out. I've got a Chilton and it tells you how to do a ton of suspension stuff, but I'm not too confident on that.

Anyone had similar problems? If so, what was the diagnosis and what's a rough estimate for fixing the problem?

TSB 05-14-3

What model year car are we dealing with? There is a Ford TSB that sounds like a match (if correct MY).

I had this same problem on my 2003. Try to reproduce by turning the wheel almost to the limits of travel. Then have a buddy slowly turn the wheel to the limit of travel. From under the car, look at the steering rack. You may notice it moving (straining) on the bushings. This is normal. However, you may also note that it squeaks at the same time.

I fixed it by replacing the steering rack bushings with stiffer model bushings and lubbing them well. The Ford TSB calls for the rack support tubes (through the K-member) to be replaced and re-torqued.

If the problem occurs only when braking, IMO it is more likely front suspension or ball joints.

>>
TSB 05-14-3

07/25/05

SQUEAK/CREAK NOISE FROM STEERING RACK
WHEN TURNING

FORD:
2002-2004 Mustang

This article supersedes TSB 04-24-8 to update the Action.

ISSUE
Some 2002-2004 Mustang vehicles may exhibit a squeak or creak type noise when turning.

ACTION