Need A Little Hand Holding....

bizkit1976

May 1, 2011
First off, I would just like to say hi and introduce myself. I have been lurking on the board for while, trying to absorb as much info as possible. I am new to both the Mustand and Classic car world.

I bought a '66 Coupe about a month ago. Cosmetically, it's in really good shape and I "believe" I have very little to do there. I have been building a list of things that I would like to do, but being new to this world, it is hard to know what would be too much to bite off on my own.

I have decided to purchase a new set of rims and a "top end" kit from Edelbrock. I have decided that I just like the fact that the parts are matched, and the kit comes with everything that I should need to do the job. So this leads me to my question. How involved is something like this, and would you recommend a "novice" attempt it? If so....

1. What tools will I need?
2. Are there any manuals/books I can buy that can give me step by step instructions?
3. How time consuming would a project like this be?

If not, what would somthing like this cost in labor hours to have someone to it for me? I would rather do it myself and learn things in the process, but I also know that I have limitations and do not want to cause a bigger mess by biting off more than I can chew. Any advice would be greatly appreciated!

Bizkit

• Sponsors (?)

get a good shop manual. All the Edelbrock stuff uses the same bolts as the old parts, so it should all go in the same as well. Be sure to allow yourself plenty of time, because everything takes twice as long as you think it will. I might also recommend getting new fasteners for everthing you will be taking off, as the old ones might be a rusty or abused by previous owners. The tools necessary are basic hand tools, plus a gasket scraper. oh, and a torque wrench.

All the Edelbrock stuff uses the same bolts as the old parts

BAD

NO NO NO NO NO!!!!