Need Help With Fuel Delivery On Carb'd Foxbody

Ipaman

Sep 6, 2015
I have a 1993 foxbody that was converted to carb by the previous owner. I am in the middle of installing a new engine and I finally need to deal with the fuel delivery.

Currently he has some type of fuel pump set up on a toggle switch. I traced the wire and it goes all the way back to the tank. Nothing external. Then he used all the stock lines and ran it to the engine. In the engine it switches over to rubber fuel lines. There is a T fitting where it goes down to one line. Then it hits a fuel pressure gauge and on to the carb. When it ran before it was around 5-6 psi.

I am confused. How is it running that pressure without a regulator? Should I stick with this set up for now? Any help would be greatly appreciated. I am new to fuel systems so please be detailed if you decide to chime in.

• Sponsors (?)

I have a 1993 foxbody that was converted to carb by the previous owner. I am in the middle of installing a new engine and I finally need to deal with the fuel delivery.

Currently he has some type of fuel pump set up on a toggle switch. I traced the wire and it goes all the way back to the tank. Nothing external. Then he used all the stock lines and ran it to the engine. In the engine it switches over to rubber fuel lines. There is a T fitting where it goes down to one line. Then it hits a fuel pressure gauge and on to the carb. When it ran before it was around 5-6 psi.

I am confused. How is it running that pressure without a regulator? Should I stick with this set up for now? Any help would be greatly appreciated. I am new to fuel systems so please be detailed if you decide to chime in.

So, to be clear, it's using the stock in tank pump? That would be kind of odd, but a neat trick with the T if that's really what's going on. I'm about to do something similar for a carb with the stock efi pump, but i was going to use a regulator.

Reactions: 1 user