Need Some Opinions On A Car

Ipaman

Sep 6, 2015
I am going to look at the car in the ad below today. I am new to Mustangs and just wanted some opinions on what you can see in the ad. Does it look like a decent car? Any red flags that I am not seeing? I have done my research and I am going to check all the usual things and more.

It has 77k miles on the body and 600 miles on the motor. My biggest concern is why is he selling it so soon after the motor build? What could he be hiding from me?

1993 Ford Mustang gt

• Sponsors (?)

The pictures are terrible. I think you will just have to go check it out. Make sure it isn't rusted out in the shock towers subframe and floor.

I'd be shocked if it was really 70k.

Reactions: 1 user
link no worky

Regardless things to know about these cars

they are 25-30 years old. Expect things to be broken, worn, rusted, hacked
Check the torque boxes, shock towers and subframes for signs of rust and damage-I would walk
Check for signs of an accident
Check for original vin tags- radiator support, inner fenders under the hood, inside trunk lid or hatch
Check all fluids oil, coolant, brake, p/s etc
Does the A/C work
Low mile cars should look low mile in the interior. One things guys overlook is the pedals. They put new seats and carpet in on cars that have XXXk miles and tell you they have XK miles.
Know that the more mods done, that is an inverse to the relialibility and ability for it to be a daily driver.
Without receipts- it didnt happen. ( motor, trans, rear end rebuild, etc.)

Good luck

Well I ended up really liking the car so I did the trade. It probably has more than 77k miles but it ran well enough and had some decent mods that I decided to take the plunge. It definitely isn't a show car or daily driver. I'll post up some better pictures.

Dang it won't let me upload my pictures.