Need sugestions on clutch upgrade...HELP PLEASE!

Gearhead91

Sep 23, 2003
New Jersey
I have an '02 GT 5spd. Bought it with 20K miles, now has 65K on original clutch with MANY burnouts, launches, drag strip passes.:nice:

Over the past year, my clutch feel has been mushy and I'm getting a slight "tapping" sound when the clutch pedal is up sitting at idle in neutral. The tap goes away when you push in the clutch. I wanna do a clutch before it leaves me stranded!

I have a few questions...

1. Do I have a 6 or 8 bolt crank? What's better aluminum or steel flywheel?
2. What's the best clutch I should go with? (making about 300rwhp)
3. What is everything I need to do the swap that a kit doesn't come with? (I want to replace everything that wears while I'm in there.)

Thanks guys. You haven't let me down yet!:hail2:

I'm also a painter for a high end body shop in NJ if anyone needs paint work done. Check my "classifieds" ad!:flag:

• Sponsors (?)

I used a King Cobra clutch in my red car and a HD ram clutch in my gt. I do not recomend the ram for a dd. The king cobra clutch was almost like stock. +1 on the throw out bearing and pilot bearing change. I never used an aluminum flywheel. I have heard it will put a few more ponies to the ground.

id go with a aluminum flywheel and a centerforce duel friction clutch, i could feel the difference with the aluminum flywheel and i love the clutch, has a great feel to it and can handle alot of power, oh and def replace TOB and pilot bearing while ur down there

+1 on the factory clutch cable from ford. i have had good luck with center force clutches and i would go with an aluminum flywheel. also alum drive shaft. a new throw out bearing and pilot bearing are a must.