New guy, things to look for?

BlancoDiablo

Dec 28, 2010
Florida
Hi all! I'm new to Mustangs, but a 1966 has always been my dream car. I'm currently enlisted in the Army National Guard and have a bonus coming to me before I deploy to the Middle East in 2011. I was planning on buying a car with part of this bonus and I think I want to finally get a classic Mustang. I'm very picky so I'm pretty sure I've narrowed it down to between '65 and '67, and my price limit is $6k. I've been finding some nice looking ones for ~$4500 around my area and once my bonus comes in next month or so, I want to start actually physically looking at and test driving cars. Now, thought I don't know alot about Mustangs, I know enough to not expect a perfect Mustang in my price range, but I'm pretty sure from what I see that I can get a pretty nice one for that. My main concern is it being drivable and reliable, as this'll be a daily driver. My father's against the idea of me getting a classic Mustang, but then again he's very biased when it comes to cars. Do any of you guys use a '60s Mustang as your daily driver? Is there any reason why one wouldn't be a reliable car if it's in good shape and taken care of? And finally, when I do go looking at them, what kind of things should I look for? In what areas should I look for rust damage?

Thank you in advance for your help. Any motivational pictures would be appreciated too ;)

• Sponsors (?)

I drive my 68 every day, work, store, movies whatever. A car is only reliable as the person who built it and the person who maintains it. Shop well before choosing, get pictures and ask here for feedback, you'll be pointed the right direction :nice: