New Member w/ Questions

jaycall88

Jan 23, 2009
Fullerton
Hello,
I am new to the forum but as of now I do not have a classic mustang yet, I am still in progress of looking for a good one for the right price. But I have some questions before I am able to start the restoration. Also, this is my first time attempting to restore a car. So this is a new learning experience for me.

1) What are some basic items that I should have when restoring the mustang?
Assembly Instruction Manuals?
Jack Stands?
Torque Wrench Set?
Simple Tool Set?
Plastic Ziplock Bags?
Sharpie Marker?
Digital Camera?
Any Other suggestions?

Please keep in mind i am a "total newbie" but I am learning as I go through forums and books.

Thank you.

• Sponsors (?)

get a decent tool set from Craftsman, the sets that have between 250 and 300 pieces have just about all the basic tool, extensions sockets, screwdrivers, etc that you will need. Its a lot cheaper to by the biggest set you can upfront because buying tools individually adds up real quick.

Get a good drop cord/light too.

get a decent tool set from Craftsman, the sets that have between 250 and 300 pieces have just about all the basic tool, extensions sockets, screwdrivers, etc that you will need. Its a lot cheaper to by the biggest set you can upfront because buying tools individually adds up real quick.

Get a good drop cord/light too.

i agree with this. in fact get two of the large tool sets indicated as you are going to;

1: lose individual tools

2: need more than one of each tool at times.

i would also get an air compressor and a few air tools, specifically air ratchets in 3/8 and 1/2 drive and an impact wrench. get two torque wrenches, one calibrated in ft/lbs up to about 150ft/lbs, and one calibrated in in/lbs. these will cover just about every nut and bolt that needs torquing on the car.

as indicated a shop manual is also quite handy, as is a good book on restoring mustangs. i like the one that HP books put out.