New to the "Classic" Forum, old to Stangnet

95CobraStang

Jan 21, 2004
Chico, CA
Hi everybody-

Quick history: I have owned two stangs - a '95 Cobra and a 2001 GT vert. I loved both of them and sold for different reasons. Anyway, as I drive in my so-called "refined" car, I can't help but keep asking myself, "what the hell have I done???" I miss the unrefined power of the stang. Sure I have a v-8 in my current car, but the power comes on smoothly...not neck jerking like I'm used to...and as I'm learning, not like I'd prefer.

Enough of that...now, to the point of this post...

I'm looking into buying a '65-'68 stang to restore. I'm not experienced in metal work, so rust repair or anything that requires actual fabrication is probably a no go...ie. repairing floor pans, etc..

Assuming a body with little to no rust, what will I be getting myself into? To all of you guys who have restored your Stangs, do you have any advice/words of wisdom/warnings to give me? Are parts generally easy to come by?

Sorry for the open-ended question, but this is my first resto project... I'm trying to see just what I'll be getting myself into.

Thanks,

Kyle

• Sponsors (?)

The '65-'66 models have huge parts availability at a lower price. '67-'68 has pretty good availability as well, but the costs are a little higher. That, and there are an awful lot more parts in the later cars than in the very simple '65-'66. Even the wiring, which is normally the most complex component, could be handled and repaired by almost anybody who isn't colourblind. The initial purchase price will probably be lower as well, unless it is fastback or convertable. But that is the case with any of the years.