Rear Differential Questions?

Ok let me just start out by saying that I know very very little about Rear Differentials!

What I do know:
* I currently have 8.0" 3.00 Gears (Non-Lock) in my car (Stock)
* I have 8.0" 3.80 Rear Differential (Non-Lock) (Spare I picked up cheap)
* My current Differential works fine no issues
* I will soon be going with taller tires on the rear (26" Probably)

What I want:
* Both tires to spin or grab really!
* More low-end as I really never need to go over 110
* To try to keep the $$$ Down but I do have some money to spend
* Run down the track a couple of times but will mostly be on the street

So now what do I do? Can I use the 3.80's? Are they going to be steep enough with the 26" Tires? How do I get/make a locking rear-end? Is this something I should have a shop do since I have never worked in this area before? Maybe I should just buy an entire Locking Differential with the gears if it will be a lot of hassle?

Also maybe somone knows of a good website where I could educate myself? I have looked but I am unable to find any that really help!

I hope someone can help,
Chad

• Sponsors (?)

You need some special tools, such as a magnetic dial indicator to set up the gears in the chunk, and you should have installation experience before you attempt it, too, or have someone who's good at it to show you how it's done. If you have someone else do the job, they'll probably charge about $150 labor. Get a trac-loc carrier, and use the 3.80 gears, since you already have them. Going from 3.00 to 3.80 is a very noticeable leap in torque to the rear wheels. With a manual trans, the tires will probably just go up in smoke with anything steeper than the 3.80s anyway. If the 3.80 set is old, have the installer check them for wear and/or damage before using them.