Remote Start in factory key fob

I was walkin to class today, mind you its in the mid 30's here and its going to get colder, and I was thinkin......and this is just me thinking out loud here, if somethin is wrong let me know.....how much work would it be to turn my panic button into a start/shut off button for a remote start.

I figured that pressing the button sends a signal to a box that controls the lights flashing and the horn honking, and maybe I could reroute those signals to go to a aftermarket remote start system..

Let me remind ya that I have no experience with remote start or how it works, but I think I have enough amibition to do it....assuming its possible

I would rather use my factory key fob than get an aftermarket one and try to teach it to unlock my doors and pop my trunk (I have a friend with a 96 gt that the previous owner had some security system that got ripped out when the guy sold it...now his power locks and trunk doesnt open (electronically) anymore...

• Sponsors (?)

The problem I see with this is:
An aftermarket remote start system will have a box that controls everything- when it gets the signal (an encrypted, frequency-hopping RF signal) from the fob it does all the things it needs to start the car. You'd have to find a way to "trick" it into thinking it was told by the fob to start the car- this will probably not be easy, otherwise these remote start systems would be very insecure. If you did find a way to do that, you'd then have to fight with the car's built in security measures (I think the stock keyless system has a fuel or starter disable circuit). After that, you'd have to find a way to make the whole thing play nice with the stock wiring system, so that you can still turn the car on/off with the key... A lot of things to do, for sure.