Someone told me that catted Midpipes make more power then O/R midpipes..fact or myth?

Craig Mack

Busted Buffing the Bishop
Founding Member
Mar 9, 2002
Lake Mary, FL
I was having a discussion with someone with a 2k1 Cobra, who has a bassani catted X-pipe and catback. He said that the catted midpipes make significantly more power than offroad ones, because our engines run off backpressure. I about fell off my chair at first, but decided to ask you guys since I am a newbie with this engine. It just doesn't make since to me though.

So, catted mid pipes make better power then o/r ones...fact or fiction?

• Sponsors (?)

Craig Mack said:
I was having a discussion with someone with a 2k1 Cobra, who has a bassani catted X-pipe and catback. He said that the catted midpipes make significantly more power than offroad ones, because our engines run off backpressure. I about fell off my chair at first, but decided to ask you guys since I am a newbie with this engine. It just doesn't make since to me though.

So, catted mid pipes make better power then o/r ones...fact or fiction?

I believe there are several tuners in your general area, I would ask them. I would say No Cats make more RWHP than Catted, IF tuned accordingly (Chipped). :nice:

More likely than not, it's just fiction.
If anything, the logic from "back in the day" used to say that off-road pipes made more power than catted pipes.
However, there really isn't much of a difference nowadays IMHO; off-road and catted aftermarket midpipes are very close to each other in terms of performance gains (when talking about the SAME BRAND here - IE - catted Xpipe by MANUFACTURER "A" Vs offroad X pipe also by MANUFACTURER "A").