Totally out of Ideas - Engine Runs Poorly

abnovak

Jul 21, 2002
Ok, first I really tried to look back at all of the posts that I could find to try to fix this but I am total out of ideas. Second, I am something of a newbie although I have some experience and good advisors. Here is the situation

'66 200 cyl: Bought a "rebuilt" engine (cheap) from a guy who decided to go V8 rather than rebuild the tired 200 that came with the car. Everything in it was completely new (pistons, cams, rods, rings, bearings etc) and unused. I do not know if they used a stock cam. Stripped car down completely and its sitting on block so unable to drive. Want to get drive train working properly before I start paint.

Problem: Starts easily but runs very rough. With my hand at the exhaust, sputters distincting. No smoke. Doesn't hestitate or stall after acceleration. Set timing at 10 degree with dist adv plugged. Vacuum hovers around 10-12 but is erratic. When accel, vacuum increases but stays erratic.

New Parts: new rotor, cap, duralast wires, autolite plugs, pertronix ingition, pertronix coil, completely rebuilt and bench tested autolit 1100 carb from Pony Carbs, all new hoses and lines (every one), teflon tape at all vacuum joints (careful not to block openings), alternator, PCV, and just about everything else in the engine compartment.

Tried:
- starter fluid at all vacuum points (no change) although I might have missed one or two on the integral head around the expansion plugs (going to recheck once I reassemble the head)
- converted back to points from electronic (no change)
- checked dist gear does not appear to be worn nor does the shaft have play
- adj mixture on carb both in and out 2 turns until it starts to stall. returned to position when shipped by Pony Carb
- no vacuum at the dist vacuum port on the carb (normal per Pony)
- vaccuum at the auto choke (normal per Pony)