Transmission Replacement

shock4878

Jul 14, 2018
Alpha Centari
I tried using the search function and didn't have much luck. Are there any guides out there on how to swap an automatic transmission? I was driving home today using cruise control and my car starting banging the rev limiter and I realized it wouldn't shift into 3rd or 4th and would just rev in drive so I had it limp it home in 2nd. Pretty sure I need a transmission replacement but I've never done one before, how difficult can it be though? Is there anything I need to be aware of when buying a new transmission? I was thinking of going to a junkyard as this mustang already has 220k on it.

• Sponsors (?)

There are many videos if you Google "2000 Mustang gt auto trans replacement" in your regular browser. Another good resource are the repair manuals at most public libraries...mine keeps an updated set on the reference side, not for lend, so I take some money and copy the pages.

If buying from a salvage yard, get a warranty.

Auto transmission changeout is not that difficult...here are some tips learned the hard way:
--drain the fluid from the trans prior to attempting to remove it (or buy 50lbs of oil sorb and plan an extra two hour cleanup in your schedule)
--drain the fluid from the trans prior to removing the driveshaft (if the car is a little nose up you will get fluid out the tail shaft when the front yoke is removed)
--remember that even with the fluid drained, the torque converter still holds fluid...handle with care
--before unbolting the trans from the motor, remove all obstructions such as exhaust, crossmembers, etc
--before unbolting the trans from the motor, unbolt the torque converter from the flywheel/flexplate and slide the torque converter back towards the trans...it comes out with the trans...remove it and keep it level until you can lay it aside face/front down to not spill fluid