Electrical Weird starting issues

nissassassassin

Mar 14, 2023
So, first off, I'm new to stangnet as well as working on anything that's not regular maintenance. Recently ended up with a 92 5.0. Its been sitting in a yard for the last decade.

So far I flushed fluids, new alternator, battery, ignition switch, oil and fuel filters. As well as a blown fusable link from the alternator to starter solenoid.

Current issue I'm having is the car will start once when cold. If I throttle it, rpm's will drop enough to either have a very rough idle, or die completely. On the second start, engine will turn over fine, but wont start. If I wait for a bit(over an hour), I can start it back up no problem.

The weird thing is that If I unhook the alternator wire from the starter solenoid, it can start several times. I was thinking I somehow messed up with the fusable link, but if I put a voltmeter to the battery, the alternator is charging the battery fine(12.4V Before start, Drops to ~11V on Startup, Rises to ~14.3V when idle)

Most of my repairs so far have been reliant on decade old forums/videos until now as I couldn't find anything on this. Any help would be much appreciated.

EDIT: I should also point out that the first time that the car runs(with alternator attached) It will start nearly instantly(less than half a second) I dont know if that means anything, but it was something I thought was odd.

Last edited:
  • Sponsors (?)

This will help, keep in mine that there may be more than one issue at play do to the length of time it sat.
I will say the first thing I would do is check for codes, well, honestly I would send off the ecu to get checked out and updated, I use the ECUExchange, you can find them on Ebay.

• Useful
Reactions: 1 user