Why do we bother with chips when we have Megasquirt?

ratio411

Founding Member
Apr 21, 2002
Pensacola FL
Seriously...
Am I missing something?

I am pretty new to the EFI stuff (only dealing with it for about 4 years now), and everything is about chips, TwEECer, Moates, Bama, etc... We ended up buying a SCT chip with Bama tune for one of our cars. It turns out to be less than desireable without any way to tune it without pulling it all out and mailing it off. I figured there would be some support to email tunes.

Anyway, getting off topic.
I have been asking on the boards for a while now if there was anything 'plug-n-play', all inclusive, something that you just buy once. Something you buy in one place and can install permanantly with anytime access via a laptop. Everyone says how great that would be, but no one could point to such a system. Everyone says how it would sell like crazy...

Well, I found it, and apparently it was right under our noses.
http://www.diyautotune.com/catalog/...g-and-play-for-19861993-50-mustang-p-418.html

Why is this never mentioned?
Is there something widely known wrong with it that I just haven't heard about?

I know it's not a chip, but it's even better. It's everything I was asking for, and at $600 is no more than buying a chip, burner, cables, and software rights for one car! Might even be less, I haven't tallied up all the $200 here, $100 there, multiple purchases needed to fully run AND tune a chip like Quarterhorse...

So tell me why these are not widespread?
Do you have one yourself?

• Sponsors (?)

I have a buddy with a mega squirt and its been nothing but problems. Also know of another guy who has had his sent back numerous times because the car will not run with it at all.

Megasquirt as well as the others you've mentioned, get talked about on here all the time. It's not the be-all-end-all in tuning for our cars.