12 Second Mustang thinking about NOS

91StangLX

Mar 26, 2004
Hello all I am new to the board and I wanted to introduce myself. My name is Todd and I have a 1991 Mustang 5.0 LX that puts out 323 HP to the rear wheels and has run a best 12.09 @ 114 mph. I am thinking of adding a ZEX 125 Nitros kit and would like to know what the board thinks about running NOS on a stock bottom end?

My mods are as follows. Stock 1991 Mustang short block with 108,000 miles on it, GT40P Heads ported and polished with Chevy valves 1.90 intake 160 exhaust and a .550 spring kit. Professional Products Typhoon Manifold, Cobra Roller Rocker 1.6 ratio, 65mm Throttle body, 76mm Mass Air, 24 lb injectors, TFS Stage 1 camshaft, MSD 6AL Ignition, MSD Billet Distributer, Art Carr Street/Strip AOD Transmission with a 2600 Stall convertor, 3:73 FRPP Rear Gears, Moser 31 Spline axels and an Eaton Differential, Subframe connectors.

• Sponsors (?)

I am not a nitrous pro, but as long as everything is in good shape in the motor and you have a safe tune, you should be good to go. Number one problem with NOS is a lean condition.
BTW for your information, you will be approaching the limits of the stock block. Also if you plan to run a the track, you will need a 6 point roll bar and seatbelts to run.

hllon4whls said:
I am not a nitrous pro, but as long as everything is in good shape in the motor and you have a safe tune, you should be good to do.Number one problem with NOS is a lean condition.
BTW for your information, you will be approaching the limits of the stock block. Also if you plan to run a the track, you will need a 6 point roll bar and seatbelts to run.