Progress Thread 2008 Mustang GT, DIY CAI any feedback Is welcome!

mathews175

Jan 10, 2020
So I am by no means a mechanic and I decided to build my own cold air intake on my 2008 Mustang GT after getting bored being home for the break from college. This was so much fun but there were no forums out there that I could find that would really help me on how to do it myself for pretty cheap considering a CAI is normally ranging from $175-$300. So I'm making this forum so others can see what I did and maybe it will help them if they want to do the same thing. I will update it as I go on with my build as well.

So to start off I went to pep-boys and gave myself a $130 budget (which was about right even though this whole thing was a pain in the butt to figure out on my own lol). I bought an aluminum 1' length, 3"diameter pipe, a spectre 60 degree elbow, a spectre performance air filter, and a vibrant performance 4"diameter to a 3" diameter intake rubber tube fitter. Thinking I had everything, I started taking off the stock air intake system and putting in place piece by piece the stuff I had bought. Then I finally saw it, I had no place to put my MAF sensor and the only one at O'Reillys that has a big hole in it doesn't work. also, the little piece that connects to the engine didn't have a slot for it.

So here is where I actually gain some ground on this project. After going back and forth with auto parts stores trying to figure out exactly what I needed, and a bunch of BS later I finally got to a point where I just said screw it I'm jerry rigging this, and i'm so proud of how its turning out. So my life saver after returning the pipe back to pep-boys was this piece at O'Reillys( https://www.oreillyauto.com/detail/b...?q=8219+&pos=0 )