302 swap into '90 240sx...

j-z

Aug 22, 2007
orlando, fl
hey guys im new to the pushrod scene, i just picked up a 302 out of a fox yesterday for $60 with complete wire harness and ecu! this past sunday i picked up a 1990 s13 hatch shell for free. im gonna need some help from you pushrod/ford gurus...

heres the plan. i want to rebuild the motor (something ive done quite a few times), and get atleast 300 to the wheels NA. im going to be revving the piss outta this motor. straight up beatin the shlt out of it. im coming from dohc I4 motors so please bare with me, and inform me at the same time. what all will i NEED to do motor wise to get what i want out of it? i was thinkin along the lines of 11.5:1 .40 over pistons, cam of course (dont know which one, but one that makes power up top), springs?, what about the stock rods? since it is a MAF ecu it will compensate for the changes i do, but to what extent? by saying that, im of course staying fuel injected. i need a ps pump, alt (brackets for those two), starter, t5 tranny, front sump setup (where can i source that out of?), maf, harmonic balancer, flywheel, and thats about all i can think of off the top of my head.

i just want to know for now where i can source the front sump setup out of. i want to do this as cheap as possible. i will be doing all the work myself, except for the actual machining. also, my clutch setup is hydraulic, while the t5 is cable. whats the best solution for that? give me some pointers on doing this the cheapest way possible to get 300 to the ground with a nice even powerband. will the stock injectors support this? what about the ecu? will it support 300 without having to change any maping? any help/info/links are appreciated. i will post pics once i get the tranny and front sump setup so i can get down to business with making the mounts.

• Sponsors (?)