5 Lug Conversion

USCGunner

Jun 10, 2017
Idaho
Hi all as you probably guessed I am new to the Fox Body world in the 70's and 80's I owned MOPARS and can work on them in my sleep. So my question is I have a 91 convertible with stock everything and 100,000 miles on the clock. I have been thinking about switching to a 5 lug set up. My question is I don't plan to race it just cruse in the summer is it worth the money to change? Thanks to all in advance

• Sponsors (?)

I’ve never done it, I might in the future though. There are some better rotors and pads you can upgrade to and those make a little difference. I have Hawk pads and drilled and slotted rotors on my 88. Feels better. My car isn’t a daily driver, weekend car at best. Mustang5l5 has a pretty detailed tech thread on the conversion.

Stock brakes on a fox barely get the job done in a panic stop from high speed. They warp easily and then remind you of the issue every time you go for a spin afterwards. 4 lugs on 5 spoke rims just looks wrong. So, with four lugs, I prefer wheels with centercaps that cover the lugs.

Cobra 13" front rotors, dual piston calipers and 11.65" rear rotors are a night and day upgrade. I feel much safer and confident with them. No fox I own again will retain stock brakes.

Last edited:
two things

• Tires have a dramatic impact on a car's braking ability.Get good tires
  • You can also significantly upgrade your 4 lug braking by installing the MM brake upgrade- it includes Hawk pads, shoes,SS caliper buhings and SS brake hoses.

Instaling 4 wheel disc brakes will not shorten the distance it takes for your car to stop, but it will reduce brake fade

Reactions: 2 users