Progress Thread 69 Cougar won't start

Hello,
Its my first time here. I can use some help.
I have a 69 Cougar with a 351w. I was driving the car and it just died. I got it home and started to look into the problem.
The car turn over just fine.
When you are cranking it over it barks and wants to start. When you stop cranking it, it dies.
So.... fuel and the card checked out. New fuel pump and carb was rebuilt. New fuel filter.
I replaced the ignition switch.

What could it be? any help would help. :)

Thanks,

• Sponsors (?)

A few quick things to check first.
Are you getting a good strong spark at the plug? Solid 12v to the pos side of the coil?
Are you sure you are getting plenty of fuel?
Check your points to see if maybe they are loose and closed up on you.

Reactions: 1 user
Thank you for you help!
Fuel is good. When I hold the key on it the start mode the car runs.
With the key in the on position I do not have 12v at the coil.
Thinking more about this problem.... the was not running great before the not running problem. It would start off ok but after running for a short period of time it would not want to get up and go.
I do appreciate the help.
Thanks Jeff

Ok we are narrowing it down. You could have a bad solenoid but I'm thinking it may be at you ignition switch. Of course you know there is a start position that connects that 12v to the coil for starting but when you let go of the key then the run position should maintain that 12v supply. It doesn't sound like its doing that.
Could be a loose connection or a faulty switch.