Any fans of the BIG 71-73 Mustangs out there?

bkshaw

Jul 2, 2004
Salem, Oregon
If so....what shoud I be looking for when examining a 72 Mustang Coupe?
Should I be looking in all the normal places for rust? The floorpans etc...
Any help would be great...

Bruce

• Sponsors (?)

bkshaw said:
If so....what shoud I be looking for when examining a 72 Mustang Coupe?
Should I be looking in all the normal places for rust? The floorpans etc...
Any help would be great...

Bruce
It's a Mustang so yah. :spot: Other than that sorry I cant help you.

I have a 72 Coupe

Yes I would say check all the normal areas for rust. Also make sure to check in the cowel area, mine has more holes than a block of swiss cheese. I would say to also check the rear inner and outer wheel houses as they see a lot of rust.

Also check the trim level. Is it a plain coupe, a Grande or an olympic special or Sprint?

I am pretty new to this hobby but if you have any specific questions I can try to help you out.

jes72mustang said:
Yes I would say check all the normal areas for rust. Also make sure to check in the cowel area, mine has more holes than a block of swiss cheese. I would say to also check the rear inner and outer wheel houses as they see a lot of rust.

Also check the trim level. Is it a plain coupe, a Grande or an olympic special or Sprint?

I am pretty new to this hobby but if you have any specific questions I can try to help you out.

Thanks for the tips... Yes it is the Sprint Coupe... I am going out there right now to look it over more and make an offer...I did see a little rust behind the pass side qtr panel behind the tire area...but not much.... no rust at all on floor pans or area...

About the cowel area....what is the best way to see rust? (other than the garden hose test...)

Bruce

What about Matching numbers? Casting numbers?

STINGER99 said: