Anybody want to school me on electronic ignition?

HeroDreamer

Apr 25, 2009
I need to replace the points on my 66 (289 v8). I have never done this before but have often seen kits for converting the ignition to electronic. I am not interested in keeping the car original so is this the best option? Just looking for some schooling on the subject...also, which particular kit would be best? Thanks!

• Sponsors (?)

I need to replace the points on my 66 (289 v8). I have never done this before but have often seen kits for converting the ignition to electronic. I am not interested in keeping the car original so is this the best option? Just looking for some schooling on the subject...also, which particular kit would be best? Thanks!

Far and away your best option is Pertronix I. No rewiring of the car, no need to change the coil, the unit replaces your points and condenser, and the distributor lead wire. You can do the whole job in 15 minutes. Remove the points, condenser, and lead wire. Thread the ignitor leads through the lead wire hole and connect them to the coil. Attach the module where the points were, drop the sensor ring over the cam, and use the included plastic spacer to set the gap between the ring and module. Install the rotor and cap and you are done.

I have the Pertronix II in mine, and I could not be happier. It fires right up, is reliable as a rock and probably helped the mileage. I say probably because mine's been on there since this motor combo was new, so I can't honestly say what it would have gotten with points. As far as I know the main differences between the Pertronix I and the Pertronix II is that the II adjusts the dwell as you drive, and if you accidently leave the key on, it won't fry the module. Being the idiot I am, I have tested the latter twice.