Bang for my buck mods on a 98 GT

oxman198

Aug 15, 2010
Hi all,
Just registered on the forum, and have a few questions. I recently purchased my first gt and love it! Its a 98 manual with 136,000 miles on it. Had a mechanic look at it and said the car is in great shape! The dealership I got it from wasnt too sure about what had been done to it, other than it being lowered about 1.5", 3.73 gears, very nice exhaust (not sure what the exact set up is, very aggressive sound though), CAI, cobra clutch, short throw shifter. Runs great, but I am looking for some more N/A power for fun driving, no track or racing. From what I have read on this forum, a PI intake and cam swap is a great place to start. I am confident that I could do the intake swap myself but am a little nervous about a cam swap, since I have limited mechanical experience and this is my only vehicle,I am also on a budget (grad student).

Anyway, I was thinking about purchasing a PI intake, UD pulley, and maybe a 70mm TB with plenum. What are your opinions on this setup? Would this be a nice bang for buck gain?? Thanks alot. Again, my mechanical experience is limited, I had a 96 V6 stang before this and installed the UD pulley and basic bolt ons myself, which is as far as I went with it.

• Sponsors (?)

:welcome:

If it already has exhaust, gears, clutch, CAI, short throw shifter, and is lowered, there isn't a great deal much left to do.

As you said, PI cams, PI intake, throttle body, and UDPs are about all that's left. You could also go with a timing adjuster or a programmer, too. A custom tune really woke my 98 up when I was NA, but that was mainly in the form of a much better shifting transmission. I would still recommend a tune after you do all of those things; American Muscle has paired up with Bama Custom Tuning to give you free custom tunes for life if you buy a programmer from them, which is an awesome deal.