Battery Dead (Out of Ideas)

savegoodautonfg

May 11, 2005
I have a Powermaster 140 Amp Alternator which is about 4 months old. I just bought a new battery 2 weeks ago. My car sits for one day and the battery is dead the next day. Why could this be happening?

I just installed a new radio but i even had this type of problem with my other radio.

The reason for the bigger alternator is because i have 1 1000 watt amp and 1 600 watt 4 channel amp for my speakers and subs.

Any ideas to help me out a bit?

Just to add. when tried to start car electrical clicked on and as soon as i jump it for one second it will start no problem. no hesitation.

• Sponsors (?)

Typically it is something draining the battery. Small things like glove box or courtesy lights are often the culprits. If you have an aftermarket stereo or alarm system, it is also suspect.

The ideal method is to disconnect the positive terminal, and connect a Digital Multimeter (DVM) between the positive terminal on the battery and the positive cable. Set the DVM on a low current scale of 2-5 amps if it doesn't auto range. Watch the current draw, and then start pulling out fuses. When you see a sudden drop in the current, that circuit is the likely culprit. Note that the computer, radio & clock will draw less than 1/10 amp to keep the settings alive.

jrichker said:
Typically it is something draining the battery. Small things like glove box or courtesy lights are often the culprits. If you have an aftermarket stereo or alarm system, it is also suspect.